ABHI Microfinance Bank Reaches PKR 14 Billion in Digital Lending Portfolio Across Pakistan

ABHI Microfinance Bank has announced that its Digital Gross Loan Portfolio (GLP) has reached PKR 14 billion, marking another milestone in its digital lending operations in Pakistan. The bank shared the update through its LinkedIn account, describing the achievement as continued growth in its digital lending journey. The announcement highlights the role of technology and customer trust in the bank’s approach to expanding financial access. Digital lending enables financial institutions to use technology-based channels and processes to provide financing, potentially reducing the need for customers to rely entirely on traditional branch-based services. For microfinance institutions, such channels can provide additional ways to reach individuals and businesses seeking access to formal financial services. However, the bank’s post does not provide a reporting date, the number of borrowers included in the portfolio or a breakdown by financing product. The PKR 14 billion figure therefore represents the portfolio milestone announced by ABHI Microfinance Bank, rather than a disclosed measure of customer numbers or total cash disbursed during a particular period.

Digital GLP measures the value of loans associated with digital lending channels and provides an indication of the scale of a financial institution’s technology-enabled financing activity. For microfinance banks, growing this portfolio can help extend lending beyond conventional branch-based operations, potentially reaching customers who face barriers to accessing formal credit. Digital applications and technology-based processes can make financing more accessible, depending on eligibility requirements, loan terms and the borrower’s ability to repay. However, the size of a loan portfolio alone does not establish how many customers have benefited or whether the lending is financially sustainable. ABHI Microfinance Bank has not disclosed the number of active digital borrowers, average loan amounts, repayment rates or the distribution of its PKR 14 billion portfolio across customer segments in its latest announcement. These details would provide a fuller picture of the milestone and its implications for financial inclusion. Responsible credit assessment, transparent pricing and effective repayment monitoring remain important as digital lending expands.

The bank has announced several digital lending milestones in recent months, progressing from PKR 12 billion in Digital GLP to PKR 13 billion and now PKR 14 billion. This sequence indicates an increase in the value of its publicly reported digital loan portfolio, although the announcements do not provide comparable reporting dates or detailed financial breakdowns to calculate a precise growth rate. ABHI Microfinance Bank’s wider business includes technology-enabled financial services and financing solutions for individuals and businesses. Digital channels can support lending through online platforms and partnerships, allowing financial institutions to engage customers outside traditional banking networks. Small and medium-sized businesses may use financing to manage working capital, purchase inventory or cover operational costs, subject to the products and eligibility criteria available to them. The bank has not specified how much of its latest Digital GLP relates to small businesses versus individual borrowers, so the milestone should not be interpreted as a measure of lending to any single customer category.

The latest announcement reinforces ABHI Microfinance Bank’s stated focus on technology, customer trust and expanding access to financial services across Pakistan. Its growing digital portfolio comes as financial institutions continue exploring ways to make banking and credit services available through digital channels. The broader impact of this expansion will depend not only on portfolio size but also on affordability, customer protection, loan performance and the suitability of financing for borrowers’ needs. Additional disclosures on the composition and quality of the portfolio would help customers and market observers better understand the results of the bank’s digital lending strategy. The bank has not announced a new product, financing target or launch date alongside the PKR 14 billion milestone. For now, the announcement marks a further increase in its reported Digital GLP and reflects its continued emphasis on technology-led lending.

Follow the SPIN IDG WhatsApp Channel for updates across the Smart Pakistan Insights Network covering all of Pakistan’s technology ecosystem.

Hot this week

CDC And EClear Expand Raast Payments And Investor Verification Services Across Pakistan Capital Market

CDC and EClear Services are expanding Raast payment options with merchant payments, dynamic QR codes, IBAN-CNIC validation and automated broker payment collection.

Raqami Islamic Digital Bank Partners With NIC Karachi To Improve Startup Financial Readiness And Digital Banking Awareness

Raqami Islamic Digital Bank has signed an MoU with NIC Karachi to help startups understand digital banking, improve financial readiness and prepare for business growth.

JS Bank Wins Customer Experience Innovation Award for Connected Digital Banking Services Across Pakistan

JS Bank has received the Customer Experience Innovation of the Year award for its connected digital ecosystem, including JS Mobile App, JS Bot and Zindigi.

BankIslami Reports PKR 3.1 Billion Profit And Improved Deposit Mix During Nine Months of 2026 In Pakistan

BankIslami reported PKR 3.1 billion in profit after tax for the first nine months of 2026, with deposits reaching PKR 630.7 billion and its CASA ratio rising to 74.7%.

JazzCash Partners With Broadway Pizza to Offer Customers Larger Pizzas at the Same Price in Pakistan

JazzCash has announced a promotional offer with Broadway Pizza, allowing customers to get a large pizza for the price of a medium when ordering through JazzCash.

Topics

CDC And EClear Expand Raast Payments And Investor Verification Services Across Pakistan Capital Market

CDC and EClear Services are expanding Raast payment options with merchant payments, dynamic QR codes, IBAN-CNIC validation and automated broker payment collection.

Raqami Islamic Digital Bank Partners With NIC Karachi To Improve Startup Financial Readiness And Digital Banking Awareness

Raqami Islamic Digital Bank has signed an MoU with NIC Karachi to help startups understand digital banking, improve financial readiness and prepare for business growth.

JS Bank Wins Customer Experience Innovation Award for Connected Digital Banking Services Across Pakistan

JS Bank has received the Customer Experience Innovation of the Year award for its connected digital ecosystem, including JS Mobile App, JS Bot and Zindigi.

BankIslami Reports PKR 3.1 Billion Profit And Improved Deposit Mix During Nine Months of 2026 In Pakistan

BankIslami reported PKR 3.1 billion in profit after tax for the first nine months of 2026, with deposits reaching PKR 630.7 billion and its CASA ratio rising to 74.7%.

JazzCash Partners With Broadway Pizza to Offer Customers Larger Pizzas at the Same Price in Pakistan

JazzCash has announced a promotional offer with Broadway Pizza, allowing customers to get a large pizza for the price of a medium when ordering through JazzCash.

UBL Digital Wins Global Award for Voice Enabled Banking Innovation at Retail Banking Innovation Awards 2026

UBL Digital has won recognition at the Global Retail Banking Innovation Awards 2026 for its voice-enabled banking initiative, highlighting digital banking innovation in Pakistan.

aik Digital Partners With PalmPay To Introduce Shariah Compliant BNPL Smartphone Financing Across Pakistan

aik Digital and PalmPay plan to introduce Shariah-compliant BNPL smartphone financing in Pakistan, offering consumers flexible payment options aligned with Islamic finance principles.

SBP Opens Cohort Two Sandbox for AI Financial Services Innovation in Pakistan Until November 30

The State Bank of Pakistan invites applications for Regulatory Sandbox Cohort 2, focusing on AI-driven financial services, credit assessment and fraud detection, with a deadline of November 30, 2026.
spot_img

Related Articles

Popular Categories